Connect with us


These are the winners of the 2020 Student Academy Awards

Since 1972, the Student Academy Awards have provided a platform for talented filmmakers to present their work to a global audience. Winners qualify to apply in the category Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film or Documentary Short Film. This could be very rewarding, as former winners have won numerous prizes and received nominations. The following provides a complete list of this year’s winners.

Alternative/Experimental (Domestic and International Film Schools)

  • Curry Sicong Tian, “Simulacra,” University of Southern California

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Pilar Garcia-Fernandezsesma, “Ciervo,” Rhode Island School of Design
  • Daniela Dwek, Maya Mendonca and Chrisy Baek, “Hamsa,” School of Visual Arts
  • Kate Namowicz and Skyler Porras, “Mime Your Manners,” Ringling College of Art & Design

Animation (International Film Schools)

  • Pascal Schelbli, “The Beauty,” Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Allison A. Waite, “The Dope Years: The Story of Latasha Harlins,” University of Southern California
  • Laura Zéphirin, “Making Waves,” New York University
  • Yucong Chen, “Unfinished Lives,” University of Southern California

Documentary (International Film Schools)

  • Maren Klakegg, “Dear Father…,” Westerdals Institute of Film and Media, Kristiania University College (Norway) 

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)

  • Karishma Dube, “Bittu,” New York University
  • Rommel Villa Barriga, “Sweet Potatoes,” University of Southern California
  • Talia Smith, “Umama,” New York University

Narrative (International Film Schools)

  • Percival Argüero Mendoza, “Crescendo,” Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica (Mexico)
  • Marie Mc Court, “I Was Still There When You Left Me,” Institut des Arts de Diffusion (Belgium) 
  • German Golub, “My Dear Corpses,” Baltic Film & Media School, Tallinn University (Estonia) 

Baltic Film & Media School, Tallinn University, Estonia, and Institut des Arts de Diffusion, Belgium, were honoured for the first time.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *